Getting better gear?

Hey, I’m new to the game, been grateful to have some random people help me with items to get me started which is great but I am lost now. What is my step to getting better gear than I have now. I see people with ST and UT gear and I assume its better, I look on the wizard wiki page but how do I know what is better, it says that something is good but has this downfall etc so I’m unsure on what is actually better. Thanks.

Just gotta compare stats

IMO stat importance is as follows

HP > Def > Att/Dex > mana > Spd > vit > wis (wis would be higher on certain classes like pally, priest, sorc)

Hook me up, I have some spare equipment for the class you are playing.

If you’re newer to the game, I personally feel that you shouldn’t worry about max efficiency builds yet. Although it’s important to have some semblance of proper gear, learn how to dodge and how dungeons work with mediocre gear before you blow the good stuff to a more preventable accident.

During that time, you can also better learn your playstyle. More offensive/vit builds are good if you’re decent at the dodging, whereas more defensive builds might be preferable if you’re more prone to tanking shots, whether intentionally or not.

my tip is just to check out the realmeye wiki page of the item
the notes also usually give a decent argument of when or if to use a certain UT/ST
you can also sort of gauge how good an item is by how much its complemented

UTs and STs aren’t necessarily better than tiered items; each has to be weighed on a case-by-case basis.

UT (untiered) items are meant to be sidegrades to tiered items, usually only useful in certain circumstances. Take the Staff of Extreme Prejudice from the Sprite World: it has huge damage, but it’s only useful if you can safely sit right on top of the enemy. In most scenarios, a tiered staff would be more useful, but you might keep an EP on hand for times when you can use it.