New Arena Game Mode Idea

Pre Note
Here is the original reddit post I wrote up: [https://www.reddit.com/r/RotMG/comments/db3ywo/new_arena_game_mode_wip/] it might look prettier since I took time to format it there and I am new to Realmeye forums.

Note I will be working on this actively both on reddit and here, adding images, clarifying text, putting in your suggestions, that sort of stuff.

Anyways, here is the idea:

So I heard about the ideas to revamp the Arena mode, and wanted to give my ideas for how to do that. I am going to be loosely basing my idea off of the game mode Gambit from Destiny 2, except, of course, no direct pvp.

Note: This is not a fleshed out idea in any sense of the word, I am still figuring out how to balance classes, items, etc. That being said, all the numbers I give below are not set in stone, they can be subject to change since I have not given much thought into their balancing. It is going to take a long time, and if anyone is interested in offering help or commenting ideas at all, that would be greatly appreciated (you will be credited w/ the work in my final post providing a proper road map on how this game mode should work at testing).

I have no timeline, I am literally a HS student that just likes RotMG. I will be posting updates to here, and maybe somewhere else I don’t really know yet. TL;DR at the bottom, without further ado…

How the game works:

This Arena game mode brings together elements of PvE and player competition together, and may help provide that extra content to make guilds more than just Guill and a place to pop keys.

• From start to finish this is how I envision a game of “Arena” two teams face off, they chose classes, and all get ready at the same time.
  • A map is chosen for them to play on (probably going to be a dungeon boss room), and each team is transported to identical copies.
  • The goal of the game is to beat the boss that is associated with that map, first team to do so, wins.