Trying to understand the RealmEye API

Hi. I am rather new to RotMG, and I ran across the ReamEye API, which is really cool. I started using it for keeping stats of my own characters. What I have working now is really neat (I’d share it with you if I could), but the API in its current state doesn’t provide much more data.

Does anyone here know how it works? I have been looking over the code shown in Github, but having trouble figuring out how it collects data from RotMG. I’m currently not even sure where it goes to retrieve its information. If anyone can point me in the right direction for this, or knows someone who does, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks

Ever see those silent wandering bots in bazaars and in nexus? They aren’t rwt or some other kind of spam, they belong to realmeye and they observe everything. That’s where realmeye’s info comes from.

but doesnt that mean that those bots use hacked clients?

I dunno, it’s an army of bots what do you think?

realmeye bots use modified clients to connect, that breaks tos

deca just turns a blind eye, because realmeye pays them money under the table from their ads

you hate to see it :pensive:

It’s because RE has shown that it bears no malicious intent to the game or DECA. As realmeye is a pretty good resource (that saves deca from having to make a long term graveyard, show rolls etc) they allow it

The way I’ve heard it explained is that the game publicly broadcasts a variety of information, some of which is visible in the client like a person’s equips and health while other parts are hidden in the client like inventory or stats. Realmeye views this hidden information in the same way that hacked clients are able to.

I would say they do because if they don’t move for a certain amount of time, it sends you back to the home screen. They’d have to have some sort of program that makes them move at set intervals.

Scripts =/= hacked clients

both are against tos

Look who’s talking…

The ToS is for normal players